College of ACES
College News

2016 FSHN faculty awards and recognitions

Published February 23, 2017

The College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences at the University of Illinois has award-winning faculty in all of its departments. These faculty in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition are recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, outreach, and service at the university level as well as on the national and international stages.

What follows is an incomplete list of the awards and recognitions received by faculty in 2016.

Food Science and Human Nutrition

Karen Chapman-Novakofski      Excellence in Practice Award, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Jill Craft                                     NACTA Educator Award, North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture

Justine Karduck                        Outstanding Abstract Award, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Elizabeth Jeffery                       Dannon Institute Mentorship Award, American Society of Nutrition

Zeynep Madak-Erdogan           Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award, American Society of Nutrition and the                                                 Council for Responsible Nutrition

Elvira de Mejia                         Sheth Distinguished Faculty Award for International Achievement, Illinois International Program

Shelly Schmidt                         Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching, University of Illinois

See the full list for ACES at

News Source:

Stephanie Henry